top of page

Ceviche


Here is my original ceviche recipe that includes fish. A faster way to prepare with only shrimp is to use cooked shrimp. Eliminates the need for letting it marinate for 4-6 hours (or overnight as I do) to "cook" the seafood. I prefer both fish & shrimp, but I don't always have time though, so usually use the quicker "Shrimp Ceviche" method and everyone devours, even those not really seafood lovers!!! Shrimp ceviche is shown in picture.

Ingredients:

2 lbs. flounder, cut into small pieces (any white fish okay. but flounder & halibut don't tend to get as mushy)

2 lbs. shrimp, cut into small pieces (I prefer to use cooked shrimp to make sure done - once when I used raw shrimp, the lime / lemon didn't cook it throughly - not good - however did have bigger chunks & now I chop into smaller pieces)

2 cucumbers, diced

1 red onion, diced (recipe called for white onion, but I prefer red & it gives more color)

cilantro, to taste (I used 1/4 of a bunch, but I'm not a big cilantro fan)

4 - 6 cloves fresh garlic, chopped fine (I prefer garlic powder instead, but Devin prefers fresh garlic)

1 - 2 fresh small tomatoes, diced - many recipes do not call for, but Devin prefers

Salt, to taste

Pepper, to taste (recipe called for white pepper, but I use black pepper. I use very little, but not a big pepper fan)

1 - 2 jalepeno, chopped fine (I don't like hot, so I do not usually use more than one, but have before)

Lime / Lemon juice (some prefer one or the other, I prefer 1/2 & 1/2)

Optional:

Pepper sauce (such as red devil, tabasco, & etc. - usually I use about 1 - 2 tsp. tabasco. Gives flavor, but not hot)

Avocado (I prefer alot of chopped avocado in mine, but since not everyone does, I usually just slice 2 avocado & put on top of ceviche so those that like could take)

Directions:

Remember...If making the "Shrimp Ceviche" quick method with precooked shrimp, skip steps 3 - 5. Only use enough lemon / lime juice for flavor and do not need to cover completely with juice / marinate. I typically only use juice of 1 lemon & 1/2 a lime when using this method.

1. Cut fish / shrimp into small pieces. The smaller they are the faster the lime / lemon juice will cook it.

2. Mix fish / shrimp, garlic, and onion together

3. Cover mixture with just enough lime / lemon juice to cover completely

4. Let mixture sit in juice until cooks seafood (fish will be white / shrimp will be pink). Approx. 4 - 6 hours.

5. Recipe does not say to drain, but I do. Otherwise I think the lime / lemon overpowers it.

6. Add remaining ingredients & season to taste.

7. Chill thoroughly before serving

Serve on tostada shells, with chips or saltine crackers. I prefer the saltine crackers. That's how we eat it in Rocky Point.

Remember, you can use any seafood you want. Just fish, just shrimp, or even add different seafood. The best ceviche we ever had included octopus & squid. However, the most common in restaurants here in Arizona is just shrimp.


bottom of page